La Frasca

I had the chance to check out La Frasca in Almenno San Salvatore for dinner last weekend and it was really good! The restaurant is located in the former St.Nicola’s Monastery in the province of Bergamo. Not only is it a restaurant, they also have a winery with around 15 hectares of vineyards.

Gli_spazi5-840x420
Vineyards. Photo Credit: La Frasca

When I stopped by around 8.30 pm on a Sunday, I was immediately impressed with the ambiance. Since it’s summer, I opted for eating outside under these lovely arches. I liked the atmoshpere, a mixture of history and peacefulness surrounded me. Such a good vibe!

FullSizeRender
Looking at the entrance of the outside restaurant

The food menu is quite large, as is the drinks list. The restaurant is well known for its meat on the grill and then for the pizza. The wine list includes a selection of wines from their one winery.

FullSizeRender_1
Menu

I must say, I ate a lot. I started with a portion of fried potatoes and then I ordered some rips with polenta and mushrooms. I had a Tornago, a red wine, to accompany my spareribs. I liked the full bodied taste of it and the fragrance of mixed fruits.

The fresh homemade casoncelli were delicious. I suggest you to order them, they are a top choice here in Bergamo. The mushrooms were a good match for the polenta. The waitress served them in a little terrine with some parsley on top.
FullSizeRender_2
Casoncelli
FullSizeRender_6.jpg
Ribs
IMG_5186
Mushrooms
FullSizeRender_4
polenta
Admittedly, I was pretty stuffed but the tiramisù was there on the menu calling me. It had been a while since last time I had it and I wanted to try again that sweet flavour, “che buono”!
The presentation was really basic. The tiramisù had a weird shape but the taste of it was not too bad.
FullSizeRender_7
I had a wonderful time here! It’s the type of place you can gather with friends and enjoy a casual and leisurely meal. Our service was good, the waitress was really helpful.

La Frasca has so many positives going for it. It’s affordable (everything is under€20), flavorful, and a friendly and casual space.

I’m giving La Frasca 4 hearts out of 5!

fullfullfullfull

La Frasca
http://www.ristorantelafrasca.com
Via Convento, 3
24031, Almenno San Salvatore, Bergamo

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, so much beautiful food! Especially the Casoncelli, they look amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re a typical dish from Bergamo. Yummy!

      Like

  2. I haven’t been to Italy, I wish one day I could!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you can make it one day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, believe I will. It is so lovely!

        Like

  3. ghadeer551 says:

    I love these popular places
    Yum Yum tiramisu .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

