A (short) day in St. Louis

I visited a small part of St. Louis, Missouri but I will share with you my (short) day there. I had fun as always thanks to my gf and her mum showing me around.
Here are the higlights:

Saint Louis Zoo

We spent most of my day here. I can not say enough good things about this zoo. First of all, it’s free and big. I got really surprised about its size, really huge so plan to spend much of the day there if you’re planning to visit it. A few of our favorite features were the butterfly dome and the penguin house. Unfortunately that day the zoo closed at 4 pm so we couldn’t finish the tour. We found out later there was an event going on.

fullsizerender5
seal tunnel

optimized-fullsizerender10

The zoo is located in Forest Park, a 1300 acre park full of some great attractions. It was home to the 1904 World’s Fair, and is bigger than Central Park by 500 acres. Although we went in the off-season, you can typically find musical acts, beautiful fountains and an ice skating rink in the winter. Here some more pictures of the zoo:

optimized-fullsizerender7
butterfly dome
optimized-fullsizerender11
pinguin house

Saint Louis Arch

No trip to St. Louis is complete without a visit to the Gateway Arch, it’s like one of the must visit yet touristic things in the city. Officially titled the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, the Arch is the national monument honoring Thomas Jefferson, his Louisiana Purchase and the Native Americans, explorers and settlers who shaped the American West. I saw it along the way in the car and you can really tell you found it as soon as you get closer, trust me. I didn’t have a chance to go to the top but you should definitely do it if you’re not afraid of heights!

fullsizerender9

Photo Credit: http://www.gatewayarch.com

After that I enjoyed some pastries while looking at the river, perfect for completing the day. Sometimes when you visit a city and you don’t have much time, you don’t have to try checking out how many places you can..because it’s not the quantity but the quality that matters.

Hope you liked the post and see you to the next one!

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

