Seasons 52

One of my stops at Kansas City restaurants during my weekend there was Seasons 52.  Located in the Country Club Plaza – Brookside neighborhood, it’s an upscale fresh grill and wine bar with a rotating menu of seasonally inspired American dishes alongside international wines.

The structure itself is an appeasing Spanish-style design, complete with an iconic Kansas City fountain perched in front. My friends and I had such a lovely dinner. Unfortunately the restaurant was packed and we didn’t reserve a table. We decided to eat at the bar instead; with wine bottles and big yellow lamps surrounding us as decoration.

IMG_0264

Upon entering the restaurant you immediately notice the warm rich colors that you’d expect from a high end fine dining Plaza restaurant. The menu at Seasons 52 changes four times throughout the year to reflect the current season. It also has a weekly specials section that changes 52 times a year and is focused even further on the immediately fresh ingredients available. The menu has just about something for everyone, ranging from vegetarian offerings to steak. There are plenty of seafood dishes and a few pastas as well. We decided to share the artisan cheese fondue with cave-aged Gruyère, cheddar and assorted breads. The starter was enjoyable, the fondue was creamy and tasty.

IMG_0266
Artisan cheese fondue

We paired up our dinner with wine. Yes, the wine list is quite unique as well; many wines are sourced from places you don’t typically find on wine lists. I got a Mirassou California ’14, a Pinot noir which had flavors of cherry, strawberry and red currant, supported by light vanilla and oak notes. I liked the wine, silky smooth, well balanced with a round, full mouthfeel.

IMG_0265
Mirassou California ’14

Our entres were “Roasted Roma tomato” flatbread with mozzarella, Parmesan and basil. I loved my girlfriend’ choice! My friend Adrian got “Honey & Herb all-natural roasted half chicken”. It was really inviting that chicken 😋. I got the shrimp scampi skillet made of crispy bomba rice, roasted plum tomatoes and garlic butter. I was so happy with my choice! When asking to modify the garlic butter to regular, the waitress was kind enough to double check with the kitchen. I had great service and the food portions were well done.


What I liked about Seasons 52 is it offers upscale dining with a healthy approach and affordable price. No item on the menu is over 475 calories! As I wrote in the introduction the menu is ever-changing. What’s being served today may not be available a month from now. It’s bad if you find a dish that you absolutely love. It’s good if you consider that you’re feasting on the freshest ingredients in the local market. Although Seasons 52 is a “chain restaurant”, they are not huge, with only a handful of restaurants nationwide. I am looking forward to returning to sample their menu!

I’m giving Seasons 52 four hearts out of five!

fullfullfullfull
Seasons 52
Seasons 52 Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
http://www.seasons52.com/home
Country Club Plaza, 340 Ward Pkwy
Kansas City, MO, 64112

4 Comments Add yours

  1. xoJenny says:

    I actually just went to a Seasons 52 this past weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience there as well!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear it! I have a feeling whatever location you go to, it’s pretty busy so it’s better to reserve a table 😊

      Like

  2. ghadeer551 says:

    I enjoyed so much for reading this .. thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

